The first week of March – a taste of Spring

Let me start this post off by saying how very dull this week was in terms of my time in Rome, but it was still enjoyable. So keeping this in mind, consider that this post for the week of March 4th until March 11th will be drastically shorter in comparison to my previous post about my weekend of Florence, Pisa, and Tuscany.

On the Thursday of March 5th, was my older sister Marlene’s 25th birthday. Dang you’re old. Mar, if you’re reading this… miss you and I hope you’re doing well and school isn’t too hard. I’m also super glad we both are bad at communicating. Otherwise, one of us could easily get offended. This Thursday I was definitely missing you and wished (still do) that you could come visit me in Rome! Also, this Thursday our apartment had our first guest and it was such blast to have one of my roommate’s friends from home stay with us for the weekend! (please come back). Also, if you have never played heads up! the game app created by Ellen, please download it because this app created my apartment hours of entertainment and laughs. I think it would be an understatement to say I get wayyy too into this game though…

Showing off Rome to Priscilla's friend from home
Showing off Rome to Priscilla’s friend from home

But this weekend was pretty lull, except for studying intensely for midterms. I was anxiously trying to play catch up as well! Rome can be very distracting… It was so nice to have relaxed weekend of hanging with friends and studying. I really do love to stay in Rome, it being Rome and all!

On Saturday my study abroad program arranged for a us a day trip to Castel Gondolfo. This is where both the directors grew up, in a town outside of Rome with two beautiful lakes, and hills. This is also known as where the Pope has a stunning summer home. It was so beautiful and nice to visit this town and also to meet the new study abroad intern, who graduated from  U of A and lives in Dallas. It was the first time for me to meet someone here in Italy who has actually heard of Hendrix! Talk about an accomplishment. They provided us a delicious and very filling meal and the chance to explore small towns around the main city of Rome.  I feel very thankful to have found CIS Abroad, although it’s more expensive than I planned on it being, I really love the people in it and the directors in charge of it. It seems to be much more personal than most of the study abroad programs that other people studying at AUR are involved it.

One of the beautiful lakes of Castel Gandolfo - I really hope to go kayaking here eventually!
One of the beautiful lakes of Castel Gandolfo – I really hope to go kayaking here eventually!
More of Castel Gandolfo's lakes
More of Castel Gandolfo’s lakes
Castel Gandolfo with a tiny peek at the Pope's summer home in the distance
Castel Gandolfo with a tiny peek at the Pope’s summer home in the distance
Each turn here had another amazing view
Each turn here had another amazing view
the Papal Summer Home (just one side of it)
the Papal Summer Home (just one side of it)
My roomie Katie and our director Romina with her pup, Nina
My roomie Katie and our director Romina with her pup, Nina
fresh tomatoes, arugula, mozzarella, and balsamic vinegar
fresh tomatoes, arugula, mozzarella, and balsamic vinegar
an amazing ravioli with zucchini flowers
an amazing ravioli with zucchini flowers
Near Romina's grandmother lives
Near Romina’s grandmother lives
a Medieval church near Castel Gandolfo
a Medieval church near Castel Gandolfo

The school week of course turned out to be me anxiously getting ready for spring break, while still working on past readings and paintings that I put off…  Kids, don’t procrastinate, it really really stinks. I get way to easily distracted and I’m definitely hoping to correct this vice of mine. Anyway, I was trying to figure out what the first of my spring break would consist of – hopefully taking advantage of the most of Rome’s art and culture. I love going to museums, but since I would be here during the first of break by myself, while my roommates were in Ireland, I hoped I could find some company to enjoy Roma with me!

Gelato with friends back in Rome - I had an amazing cheesecake flavor
Gelato with friends back in Rome – I had an amazing cheesecake flavor
you can get so many delicious fruits and veggies here in Roma for very little euro
you can get so many delicious fruits and veggies here in Roma for very little euro
the view from my apartment's balcony, also what I saw while I was studying for midterms
the view from my apartment’s balcony, also what I saw while I was studying for midterms

So after my packed school week of midterm type events, even though two exams were after break, I was more than ready to break 🙂 Again, sorry this post is so short, but at least you “loyal” readers get a break in this post from my usual memoir style posts. Thanks for letting to play catch up with you all!

Leave a Reply

