The Week of March 25th to April 1st (Sorry for the lack of creativity..)

On the Friday the 27th, I explored some side streets of Rome and dropped into the gallery of Lorcan O’Neill. This place took me two separate occasions to find, both times it rained. Of course, this gallery was in a completely different area than Google Maps told me… I would have been less annoyed if I hadn’t gotten rained on. The gallery was tucked way in an like little cave, with a little courtyard. The space was tall and white, very pretty, but the art exhibited was very odd. The artist Eddie Peake enjoyed using materials such as lucite plastic. If someone was to ask me what I thought the deeper meaning of this work was, I would have no idea what to say. All in all, I’m glad I took the time to visit it.  This was also the same day as a food truck festival taking place in the Testaccio area of Rome. There were all types of stands, but it was interesting how the food being served was imitating American style dishes. I saw lots of barbecue and hamburgers, with lines that went on forever. I’m not complaining though, because the cheeseburger I ordered was amazing.

Getting lost in Rome has its perks.
Getting lost in Rome has its perks.
I managed to snap one picture without the receptionist getting suspicious at the Eddie Peake exhibit .
I managed to snap one picture without the receptionist getting suspicious at the Eddie Peake exhibit .

The next day, Saturday the 28th, was the school day trip to Assisi. This town in Italy is home in the Umbria region, also known as the birthplace of St. Francis and St. Clare. It is home to some incredible churches and history. Assisi is incredibly old and beautiful, with unsurmountable views. I was also glad some of my roommates and other friends in my building were attending the trip, so I wouldn’t be totally isolated.  AUR provided us with a tour, led by totally biased guide towards religion (he keep trying to get us to convert). The tour was still helpful though, since I didn’t know much historical background of the town. He led us around Assisi and took us in all the main sights, like the Basilica of San Francesco. After the tour, the group I was with and I had lunch in a tiny restaurant then walked around more of the town. We even climbed up to the top of the hill, where an ancient fortress still stood. Descending this took time, but we got back down and stocked up on souvenirs and gelato. Before we knew it, our time in this ancient place ran out and it was time to head back to Roma.

The beach in Santa Marinella (featuring the Mediterranean Sea!!)
The beach in Santa Marinella (featuring the Mediterranean Sea!!)

That Sunday I spent the afternoon in a small beach town called Santa Marinella right outside Rome. It only took my roommate and I about 30 minutes to get there by train – very convenient.  I loved reading under the sun on the sand and then grabbing a delicious seafood lunch by the water. It was only a couple of hours, but it’s always nice to escape the same surroundings for a bit, especially when I knew the next few days would be filled with homework.

IMG_8104

Leave a Reply

